First sewn garment since school

I made it on time! We went to DH’s childhood friend’s wedding last weekend and I just finished the dress the night before we left. It was a wonderful wedding and I really like the dress. It was a bit scary to wear something handmade in stretch fabric. What if a seam would break…But it didn’t.

Eva dress

Pattern: Eva Dress from Your Style Rocks

Fabric: Lightweight viscose jersey in turqoise from tyg.se

Thread: Polyester from Stoff & stil

Eva dress back

Started: May 2013

Finished: June 6 2013

Details: I used zig zag stitches for all but the hems. For the hems I used a twin needle. Used clear elastic for stabilisation of the back neck and shoulder seams.

Eva dress front

Notes: Even for a beginner sewist like myself  this dress is not too difficult although I bodge up the back neck facing on the second attempt. Tried to make it neater the second time but it ended up turning over. Since I made a hole in the fabric the first time I left it like that. The pleats in the back gives it a nice figure without too much work.

Wearing a knit dress is something new to me. It felt really nice and the fabric bounced as I walked. Like to try making one in a heavier fabric.

Leave a Reply

