Totally uncharacteristic

Those of you who know me, or at least have seen me at some knit event, know that my preferred method of using skeins is not to wind it into balls. Well for one I don’t have a swift and ball winder if I had easy access to these equipments it might have been a different story.  But winding a ball by hand is tedious and takes away precious time I could otherwise spend on knitting.

So if you see someone sitting with their skein wrapped around their neck, contentedly knitting, it could very well be me. One might even say it is my signum.

But yesterday when I got out my second skein of Malabrigo lace for my Geodesic cardigan I noticed it had almost felted together in some places. Yes I did put it around my neck and unravelled a bit but quickly realised it was not to be. I do occasionally wind centre-pull balls so I do know how I just don’t like to do it. I did have it around my neck for most of the winding, but M helped for a while as well.

Leave a Reply

