So you think you can knit – The challenge!

The wonderfully talented Lisa has put together the most amazing knitting contest/challenge inspired by the TV dance competition So you think you can dance – So you think you can knit (SYTYCK). All 66 (I think) entrants have entered the competition in a dance style they are most comfortable with – I settled with Hip hop. Everyone has now  received  a personal challenge to compete in a different style. Mine was Broadway – or as Lisa wrote (via Google translate):

Colorful and “dazzling”.
One color at a time is not for you. It must be more strands, motifs, colors and patterns. Multi-color knitting with all its various techniques belong on Broadway. This of course means that your style often draws its form from other styles, but the important thing for you is the expression, and all the beautiful rainbow colors!
You are probably just as colorful in your personality as in your knitting!

And now it’s Hollywood week. All contestants have one week to decide on project and yarn. Swatching, calculating is allowed but not casting on for the project. The grand show starts in one week at 18:30 CET. Voting is done during all of December and ends on New Year’s Eve.The voting is based on the contestants blogging of their progress and not on the actual FO (or UFO).

Wow! I had several ideas of what challenge Lisa would give me, Broadway was not one of them. But I do think she did an excellent choice. It will definitely be a challenge. I am not to concerned with the technique per se, I have tried it but I have to watch the tension carefully. However, it will be quite difficult to capture the gist of the style.

What should I choose? I have perused Ravelry and I have a few ideas. But I must select the right yarn and project to really make it true to the Broadway style.

Leave a Reply

